Menu

GoToAssist Remote Support (v2.4, b857) Release Notes

Released July 06, 2015 (PST)

SUMMARY:

  • New GoToAssist logo
  • Allow technician to update stored password
  • New message for sessions disconnected by customer security software
  • New preference to run sessions as a service at startup
  • Restrict remote control permission for technicians
  • New Terms of Service agreement

What’s New?

New GoToAssist Logo
  • All instances of the former GoToAssist logo OldG2ARSLogo  have been updated to reflect the new GoToAssist logo NewG2ARSLogoIcon (e.g., the Expert and Customer toolbars, shown below). 

NewEPLogoNewEPCustomerAllow Technician to Update Stored Password

  • While in a support session with their customer, technicians are now able to see the dialog box to update the stored Windows password of the unattended computer while connected remotely. Previously, when a technician would select Update Stored Password while remotely connected in a session, the screen-blanking feature would become enabled, forcing the on-site user to update the stored password.

UpdatePW

New Message for Sessions Disconnected by Customer Security Software

  • Technicians that host support sessions on either Windows or Mac will now see a localized message (i.e., in all 5 available languages) in the GoToAssist Expert software (e.g., message dialog, shown below for each OS) within 5 seconds of the connection starting that explains the session was disconnected due to their customer’s anti-virus or security software.  Along with the explanation, the technician will also see instructions in the message to encourage their customer to disable the anti-virus or security software that could be blocking the incoming connection.  Previously, both technicians and customers would see a generic “Customer has left the session” message, without further indication of why the customer could not join the support session.

AV_Crashed_Session_WinAV_Crashed_Session_Mac_New

New Preference to Run Sessions as a Service at Startup

  • Technicians now have the ability to enable/disable a new preference that will allow them to control whether their support sessions run as a service automatically at session start.  The purpose of running a support session as a service is to allow the technician to access certain features of Windows (e.g., Device Manager, Remote settings, etc.) that require administrator rights. One particular highlight of this new feature set is that technicians now have the ability to connect to a customer whose session is running within a terminal or XenServer session.  Previously, all sessions would attempt to start as a service automatically, which resulted in delayed session load times, as well as the inability for the technician to connect into the same terminal or XenServer session as their customer.
    • When the preference is enabled to run the session as a service on startup, the customer will receive a User Account Control (UAC) prompt that they must accept in order to complete the join flow process.  Once in session, the technician will have access to features that that require administrator privileges to access.
    • When the preference is disabled to run the session as a service on startup, the customer will not receive a UAC prompt to join the support session, and the technician will be unable to access any Windows features that require administrator privileges to access (e.g., Device Manager, Remote Settings, etc.).  However, the customer will be able to connect to a GoToAssist support session from within their active terminal or XenServer session, and the technician will now be able to connect to that same active session.
      • At any time during the session, the technician can send the request to upgrade the support session to run as a service by navigating to Tools > Upgrade to Run as a Service.  The customer will then be prompted to enter administrator credentials to proceed.  If the customer declines the request, the session will remain running as-is in non-service mode.
      • Note: When connecting in a support session with this preference disabled, the Ctrl-Alt-Del icon CADicon on the technician toolbar will be grayed out, and upon hovering over it, a tool tip will appear indicating that sending Ctrl-Alt-Del will only be available if the customer application is running as a service (e.g., the technician toolbar, as shown below). As stated previously, at any time the technician can send the request to upgrade the session to run as a service.

NoCAD

  • Technicians can change the default preference of hosting their support sessions to run as a service as follows:
    1. Right-click the GoToAssist icon NewG2ARSLogoIcon in the system tray.
    2. Select Preferences.
    3. Use the check box under Run Session as Service to enable or disable the feature ‘Run support sessions as a service on startup.’
      • Note: This preference is enabled by default for all users.
    4. Click OK.
      • Note: Click the What’s this? button in the Preferences window to view a detailed explanation for both enabling and disabling the ‘Run as a service on startup’ option.

RunAsServicePreference

 

Restrict Remote Control Permission for Technicians
  • Admins can now restrict the ability for standard users to remotely control the customer’s keyboard and mouse during a support session.
  •  To restrict the remote control feature for standard users, admins can do the following:
    1. Create a new user or edit an existing one.
    2. On the Permissions page, locate Support Features.
    3. Check the box to enable or disable access for “Can remote control.”
    4. Click Next > Finish to save the changes.

 

CanRemoteControl.png

New Terms of Service Agreement

  • Administrators who are hosting from a single technician account that have not previously accepted our Terms of Service agreement (i.e., when prompted from the web site) will be greeted with a localized dialog prompt in their language to accept the new terms upon launching the GoToAssist Expert software (e.g., the dialog prompt, as shown below).  Within the dialog box, a direct link to both the new Terms of Service and FAQs page are also provided.  If the technician dismisses the dialog box (i.e., clicks the X icon), they will continue to be prompted via web site or Expert software until the terms are accepted.

TOSPromptBug Fixes:

  • Fix implemented on Remote Diagnostic to correctly identify Windows 10 OS.
  • Updates made to the Expert (localized Germany) login dialog box to show all text.
  • Fix implemented for app crash when Expert ends session and while countdown dialog box is open, customer attempts to end session.
  • Fix implemented to disallow use of Ctrl-Alt-Del command (both toolbar icon and keyboard shortcut) when technician remote control access is disabled.
  • Changes made to technicians with remote control access disabled to utilize viewer arrows to view multiple monitors on a Mac.
  • Updates were made to disable message showing “<technician> has keyboard and mouse control” when the technician has remote control access disabled (i.e., view-only access).

Provide Feedback

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions about this release, please visit our GoToAssist Community and post your feedback – we want to hear from you!