June 23, 2014 | By

ITIL Explained: Adding Structure to Your IT Services

By Stacey Watkins

Sure, you might not be implementing ITIL on the same scale as Disney, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t a little intimidating to start. (For those who need a refresher, ITIL is the Information Technology Infrastructure Library — a set of practices that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of the business.)

At the heart of ITIL is something we all want and what every business needs to survive: customer satisfaction. ITIL accomplishes this by proposing four main processes:

  1. Incidents
  2. Problems
  3. Changes
  4. Release Management

More simply put, it’s a way to manage deadlines, priorities and SLAs that creates a better customer experience. The four processes are broken down below.

Incidents are single, negative events that often give birth to problems and require changes.

Problems affect the quality of a service and are at the root of each issue.

Changes can occur to services or things that affect those services.

Release management allows change to be delivered more efficiently with less risk.

itil graph1These four processes are the big hitters, but there are two more pieces to the puzzle. Underpinning everything are configuration and knowledge management, which house your company’s data, information and knowledge.

Ready to start using our ITIL based solution, GoToAssist Service Desk? Start your free 7-day trial today!

Discuss / Read Comments

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Explore our other Product Tips or Recent Posts.

Subscribe to the RescueAssist Blog

Submit your email to get updates right to your inbox.