GoToAssist Seeit (v6.1 Web) Release Notes

Released October 26, 2015 (PST)

SUMMARY:

  • Ability to send invitations via text message
  • Support for background mode
  • Audio muted upon joining session
  • Bug fix

What’s New?

Ability to send invitations via text message

  • Technicians will now see a new option to send their customer a GoToAssist Seeit session invitation in the form of a text message when they create a new session on the technician web site.
  • Invite a customer via text message as follows: 
    1. Log in to the technician web site at https://seeit.gotoassist.com.
    2. Click Start a session.
    3. Click Text Message in the bottom navigation.
    4. Select the desired country code from the drop down menu.  
      • Note:  At this time, text message invitations can only be sent to mobile device phone numbers that have a country code in the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
    5. Fill in the area code and phone number of the customer you would like to invite.
    6. Click Send.
    7. A confirmation dialog box will display to indicate the text message was successfully sent.
    8. Click Close.​

StepsToText

  • Once the invitation has been sent by the technician, a text message that contains the GoToAssist Seeit session link is delivered to the customer’s mobile device. ​

ActualTextMessage

  • Once the customer has received the text message, they can tap the unique session link, and the join flow on their mobile device will proceed in 1 of the following ways:
    • If the GoToAssist Seeit app is already installed, the customer can click Open to be launched directly into the GoToAssist Seeit session.
    • If the GoToAssist Seeit app is not installed, the Google Play Store or App Store app will open and display the GoToAssist Seeit app page, where the customer can tap Install to download the app for their mobile device.
      • Note:  Installation of the GoToAssist Seeit app is required in order for a customer to join a session.

Support for background mode

  • Technicians will now see informative messages on the technician web site that indicate when a customer has set the GoToAssist Seeit app to background mode on their mobile device during a live session.  The messages displayed on the technician web site will vary, depending on the last action that took place during the session before the app entered background mode. Messages displayed on the technician web site will correlate with the following scenarios:
  • Scenario 1:  The customer shared their camera then set the app to background mode.
    • The technician will see a message, “The app is in the background.  The person you’re helping must resume the app in order to continue the session” displayed on the technician web site. AppIsInBackground
    • If the technician attempts to share a photo in the viewport, a message will display, “The Seeit app on the mobile device has been put into background – please wait.”  The technician will also be unable to pause the camera sharing, use annotation tools, or take a snapshot until the app has returned from background mode.​AppInBackgroundPleaseWaitRed
    • The customer will see a red bar displayed in the top navigation of their mobile device with the message, “GoToAssist Seeit” flashing.  They can tap the red bar to return to their GoToAssist Seeit session, and camera sharing will resume.
      • Note:This message and behavior only occur when using an iOS device.

SeeitBackgroundBar

  • Scenario 2:  The customer stopped sharing their camera then set the app to background mode.
    • When the customer stops sharing their camera, the technician will first see the message, “Camera sharing stopped.  The person you’re helping must tap the camera sharing button to continue.”  During this time, the technician can still share photos and use annotation tools. CameraSharingStopped
    • Once the app is sent to background mode, the technician web site will display the message, “The app is in the background.  The person you’re helping must resume the app in order to continue the session.”  During this time, the technician will be unable to pause the camera sharing, use annotation tools, or take a snapshot until the app has returned from background mode.  Once the customer brings the app out of background mode, the technician will see the message indicating that camera sharing has stopped.
  • Scenario 3:  The technician paused camera sharing and the customer sets the app to background mode.
    • When the technician pauses camera sharing, the still image is being shared and the session enters photo sharing mode.
    • Once the app is set to background mode, all of the behavior described in Scenario 1 will occur.
    • When the app returns from background mode, photo sharing will resume.
  • Scenario 4:  The technician shares a photo in the viewport and the customer sets the app to background mode.
    • When the technician takes a snapshot and shares the photo in the viewport, the session enters photo sharing mode.
    • Once the app is set to background mode, all of the behavior described in Scenario 1 will occur.
    • When the app returns from background mode, photo sharing will resume.
  • Scenario 5:  The technician uses drawing tools on paused camera sharing or a snapshot and the customer sets the app to background mode.
    • When the technician takes a snapshot or pauses the customer’s live-streaming camera sharing and uses drawing tools on the photo, the session enters photo sharing mode.
    • Once the app is set to background mode, all of the behavior described in Scenario 1 will occur.
    • When the app returns from background mode, photo sharing will resume.

Audio muted upon joining session

  • All GoToAssist Seeit sessions will now begin with the audio muted automatically at the start of each new session for both the technician and the customer. Previously, the audio for both parties would automatically be unmuted when the session began, and each would have to click the Microphone icon Mic to mute themselves at the start of each new session.

Bug Fix

Ability to remove annotations outside of annotation mode

  • Fix implemented to allow the Remove Annotations icon TrashImages to stay enabled during photo sharing (i.e., when a snapshot is shared or camera sharing is paused), even when the technician is using the default cursor (i.e., outside of annotation mode).

Provide Feedback

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions about this release, please visit our GoToAssist Community and post your feedback – we want to hear from you!